Faith?

January 24, 2010

OK, I am just going to say it……It is easier for a woman to be a Christian than it is for a man!

I should just leave this post there and get under the bed right now.  “But Craig! How can you say that” ….”I’ll tell you”

God wants us to ask questions, intelligent questions.  He really does, he expects us to doubt, to be weak.  If we know all of the answers, we would not need faith, in fact, we would be God. (you probably know where this is going now)  and I am going to loop back around to that whole “humility” thing that God has been working on in my life.  So, the problem with guys is, we do not ask questions, we do not ask for directions, we do not even read directions that are handed to us.  One of the greatest fears a guy has is to look weak.  That is why community is so important.  If you will notice, a lot of the books of the new testament are letters written to groups of Christians (Churches) and it was intended and expected for the message to be delivered to the group in general.   This allowed for discussion and questions, debate.  Just asking a question is an admission that you do not know the answer and requires humility.  So when your pastor tells you in the middle of his sermon, that he is not sure about something, that he does not have all of the answers, I think you can at that point rest assured that you are truly be shepherded by a man of God.  A man who is seeking God’s direction and is willing to have faith in the Lord’s direction. It is a good sign anyway.

It is only in the last few hundred years, Johannes Gutenberg invented the printing press in 1440, that the concept of personally reading and studying the bible even became possible.  Before that, nobody owned a personal bible.   We are meant to work together on interpreting God’s word, to ask questions, to listen to other ideas, and it can be unhealthy to isolate ourselves.  Community, questions and doubt lead to the growth of faith and a better understanding of God’s plan for our lives.

Jim Jones, David Koresh and Marshall Applewhite professed to have all of the answers, they certainly were not asking questions, or, for that matter, allowing their followers to ask questions.

So rejoice in your ignorance, uhhh, I mean humility.

As usual, I want to stress that I am no biblical scholar and I can be way off.  I am certainly open to discussion on this issue (See how much I have grown.)

“I am telling you we are NOT lost, I wanted to go this way!  I have always wanted to see where this road went”

4 Responses to “Faith?”


  1. Wow you really are asking for it with this one, aren’t you? 🙂

    I agree that men struggle with a ridiculous amount of pride and arrogance and, as Lewis said, we only go to God after our ship has already sunk. This is, I think, the only way any man has ever come to God (save Jesus).

    It’s also probably true throughout history that women have led their men and communities to Jesus. I doubt any woman would say that following Christ is easy, but it seems obvious, given the numbers, that women turn to Christ more readily than men.

    If we look at discipleship as a whole I am guessing that men and women probably have different strengths that each can learn from the other.

    **Random note: I disagree that if we knew all the answers we would be God. I think it is far more than knowledge that makes God who He is – although certaintly that is a part of what we know about Him. I don’t think any of us have to fear about learning so much that God is threatened.**

    • craigleonard Says:

      Yes, I know I am asking for it, but I said “easier” not “easy”. Experience has shown me that the destinction will not be well noted 🙂
      I agree on the knowledge issue. I was being overly simplistic.

  2. Heather Says:

    …yay…rejoice in your unknowing…let God be God and leave the apple alone. Awesome Craig.

  3. Lynn Sanford Sims Says:

    You Leonards are quite something, you know that? I am envious of how articulate both you are, and definitely impressed with your introspection. But, it’s all about Jesus anyway, right?

    I don’t believe women have it easier when it comes to pride and arrogance, or in ‘being a Christian’ it just shows up differently.

    Sin is universal; we all have the same sin nature, it just manifests itself differently in men than in women.

    One of my biggest struggles in life has been with communication, and having healthy boundaries. So much so it’s taken years to get to the stage of even understanding the concept.

    The way pride has manifested itself in my life is when I would get sufficiently ticked off with someone I would just cut them out of my life. I’d put up a wall and decide I didn’t need them anymore. I wanted to show them that no one is going to treat me like dirt and get away with it.
    Then, I would move on to the next friendship and start the pattern all over again.

    The high of the ‘romance stage’ rolls into the ‘disillusionment state’ where they would say or do something that would tick me off, and instead of speaking up I would clam up. I didn’t want them to see my vulnerability. I was too proud to say ‘that hurt me.’

    Next comes the ‘power struggle stage’ where the heat gets turned up higher, and you either find a way to communicate and work it out or you ‘file for divorce’ and end the relationship. This is usually all the further I would get.

    Time after time I would hit the same wall; year after year, job after job, friendship after friendship, until God’s spanking got so painful and humiliating it was either ask for help or take the easy way out and commit suicide.

    The end result of this way of life is a lot of loneliness, and untimately a ‘shipwrecked life’.

    BUT this is where God comes in! He finally has us right where He wants us. We’re broken. We’ve come to the end of ourselves. Now, we can either learn from our mistakes and learn how to communicate, which takes humility, or we keep on in our pride and arrogance and suffer some more. The choice is ours.

    … “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” James 4:6 NIV

    I am so grateful for God’s grace. He’s been with me through it all and I feel like I’m just begun to live. I’ve been in the prison of my own making for years, and am now released to enjoy the years ahead. God does indeed restore the years the locusts have eaten, and He’s only just begun in my life.

    Thank you Jesus


Leave a Reply

