I am the King of Humility!

January 13, 2010

In fact, there is nobody greater at humility than I! I actually live on top of a mountain of humility! …..I have said this as a joke (kind of) to my kids all of their lives.  The are very tired of it I am sure.  Truth be told, humility is not a gift with which I have been abundantly blessed. (but you knew that).

When I say that I trust in the Lord to do all that he has said he will do, what does it mean when I tell God, “here you go, I can’t figure out how to deal with this so I am putting it in your hands”. At that point, shouldn’t I be able to just completely let go and trust?

I should,

but I don’t.

So I am dealing with a lot of stuff right now.  I have always been an emotional sap.  It is my fathers fault, I got it from him and Jason certainly got it from me.  So I am telling myself to be strong and let go of my worries, but to me that means shut off my emotions.  That is just not who I am!

So here is today’s problem.  A couple of weeks ago at church, one of the things I picked up on was the statement “Worry is Pride”  actually in my notes I wrote “worry is PRIDE!!!”  (I take a lot of notes in church, enough that my daughter gave me a journal for Christmas so I can quit scribbling on scraps of paper… She made me very happy).

I am a bit uncomfortable with how many times the word “humility” comes up but here you go:

1 Peter 5:5-7 (New American Standard Bible)

5You younger men, likewise, be subject to your elders; and all of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, for GOD IS OPPOSED TO THE PROUD, BUT GIVES GRACE TO THE HUMBLE.  6Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, 7casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.

When I let worry (pride) take over, I am saying that I do not trust God.  Since my desire is to trust in the Lord, worry is the enemy.  However, this does not absolve me from my responsibilities.  So obviously there is a fine line here.  I am responsible for me and I need to accept that responsibility and do the things I know need to be done every day.  God is not exhorting me to be lazy.  I am actually sure about this.  There are things I can control and things I cannot.  If it is something I cannot control, I am pretty sure this knot in my belly is a sign that I still need work.

One thing I have learned the hard way, is that growth does not usually happen when everything is going smoothly.  Growth happens in hard times, when nothing seems to be going right, when I am forced to turn to God and trust in his grace.

Man, I am really growing right now.  Thank you Lord!

One Response to “I am the King of Humility!”

  1. jason Says:

    so you think that verse applies because of the “young men” qualifier? 🙂

    seriously though, that Peter would encourage us to cast all of anxiety upon God….thereby implying this is possible is crazy. Do we believe that He is so good?!


Leave a Reply

